From the Chairman of the Board

Sep 1, 2020

Patti Hood, 2020 Chairman of the Board

The COVID-19 pandemic continues to disrupt our normal way of doing business. Although most businesses have been able to reopen their doors, it is still a time of uncertainty for small and midsize businesses. Despite all the uncertainty, the Ankeny Area Chamber is here as a resource to your business and will continue our focus to provide the necessary marketing, relationship building, and other professional tools a business needs to succeed.

The Chamber encourages you to keep your customers up-to-date with your day-to-day operations. You might have to close or reduce hours to give employees time to sanitize your facility. Or maybe you’re experiencing delays in online orders. The Chamber is always available to help spread the word to the community. Send us your business information and we’ll include it in our e-newsletter, online events calendar, business updates web page, and social media. We’re here to help market and refer your business to the community (send information to

All business owners are well aware of the circle of life of a business – celebrating an opening, finding balance and accomplishing goals, and hopefully having a long life with roots in the community, and all the ups and downs in between. Sometimes things change and we have to adapt and adjust. Sometimes the change is expected and joyful and other times it isn’t (and seems to happen at the worst possible time). However, with the right perspective and the Chamber by your side we can get through it. You may even surprise yourself by becoming a stronger leader and business owner than you were before.

It might seem like the turmoil of the COVID-19 pandemic will never stop disrupting our way of life, but eventually things will get better. Look around you and assess where you need to re-focus your efforts. Proactive businesses who adjust to our “new normal,” will be the best equipped to ride out the storm. And please, if your business needs help, resources, or advice, reach out to me or any one of the Chamber team members. The Ankeny Area Chamber will continue to provide resources for living and working through COVID-19, and we are equally focused on the recovery and resiliency of our business community. The Chamber is here to help existing businesses, new businesses, and our community succeed and thrive.

Subscribe to our Newsletter